Apple’s iOS 10.3 update could result in you losing all of your data if you do not perform a back up

If you have sentimental attachment to the data on your iPhone, you will want to perform a backup before upgrading to Apple’s latest iOS update later this month. While iOS 10.3 promises to deliver a host of new updates, one component could devastate users who do not back up data and files to Apple’s cloud before installing new operating system. It all has to do with the tech giant introducing a new file system to replace its 29-year-old predecessor known as HFS+. Your iOS update will automatically convert to the new Apple File System (APFS), but if something goes wrong during the process, your old files could disappear for good because the two file systems are not compatible. While you will be able return to the old version of iOS, this will require you to reformat your drive, which will delete all of your files on your device — hence the need for the backup. It might sound risky, but Apple File System promises to be a huge improvement on the predecessor which the tech giant has been using since its introduction in 1998. The update will be better suited to modern computing demands, allowing for stronger encryption, more accurate time stamps and optimisation for solid state storage. The new operating system is also expected to include a Find My AirPods feature, hidden keyboards for iPads and minor App Store improvements. APFS is also tipped to be rolled out across its computers, smartwatches and Apple TVs.

Some very useful info for those of us who have iPhones and such.  To read the rest of this article, and how to back up with iCloud, click on the text above.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s